My handstand journey: the lesson

9th November 2016 was the day I started my handstand journey. The reason I wanted to get to my handstand was to challenge and remind myself that anything I put my heart and soul into was within my reach.

As I started my practice on my own inside my bedroom I landed on my back and fell off several times. The very first attempt to my handstand landed me on my head and hurt real bad. So yes you got to be very careful. If you have someone to guide you it’s always better but I did on my own. It’s been about 6 to 7 months since I started my handstand journey and I have gone through different phases. I hurt my arms, wrist, back and ankle but through it all I kept growing stronger. One thing I never believed was that I will not be able to do it.

This journey has taught me to keep going even when all odds are against me and I had to learn to set priorities right. I knew it is going take time, dedication, will power and some sacrifices along the way but I knew it will be worth all those. I never gave up but I fell in love with the process and the progress. I am still struggling to stand still on my hands but I am confident that I will not give up. I have come a long way from where I was 6 months earlier.

As I am getting closer to standing on my hands I am realizing that the reason I started was so much more than just the handstand itself. When I started my handstand journey , I thought once I get on my hands I would be done but now that I am almost there and I don’t want to be done.

 This journey has taught me perseverance, patience, consistency, resilience and above all changed my perspective of looking at challenges . I knew I would learn new lessons but the lessons I learned have exceeded my expectations. I am so grateful and proud that I made this choice. I have learned to do my best work and not worry about the results. Who knew that a handstand would teach me life lessons. It has helped me grow as a person. When I try and think of the day I was not even able to push my feet up in the air but today I am almost standing on my hands, I am amazed at my progress.

I am never going to be perfect and who wants perfect anyway, all I want is that I do everything that is possible for me. Though I have goals and destinations but my journey is equally (if not more) important. The best part is that feeling of knowing that just few weeks back what I can do today seemed impossible.

Of course it is going to be a huge achievement to be able to stand still on my hands but the journey has it’s own excitement and fun. It’s in the journey that I am learning to be patient with myself and others. I am learning to  accept and expect failures along the way.

Fall in love with the journey because the destination will not seem very far. The destination will appear more beautiful if you have learned to appreciate the journey.
IMG_20170506_190406_769

Always be in love with the journey, it’s in the journey that will determine your destination .Everything you want to accomplish is just a decision away. You just have to show up and keep trying. You will be amazed at what you can do if you keep trying and don’t give up.

Tshering.

Leave a Reply

